dating, love, relationships

Till there were none..

Here a little update from yours truly. These past couple of days have been.. hectic. To say the least. Somehow I have managed to go from three secret (secret as in I decided to hide them from the rest of the world) admirers to absolutely none. Quite impressive, I have to say. 

So, about a month ago I broke up with the only boy I have ever loved. Or man, if you will. I will not go into the dreadful details of it, but my decision was mainly based on the fact that I loved him in a way that was not appropriate for a girl of my age. I wasn’t so much ‘in love’ with him, I found, but loved him more deeply, like a friend or a brother. And I know about this horrendous trend called ‘friendzoning’, in which guys believe that they are being treated unjust by girls because the girls refuse to fall in love with them – however it was nothing like that, cause I literally pushed myself to fall in love. I knew that he was the kind of guy that I would marry. He was reliable, kind and handsome as well. But one cannot force love, apparently. 

As I once again was a single gal, the guys seemed to flock towards me for the first time in my life. There is this theory that people are somehow more attractive when they are actually in or just out of a relationship and I have seen this effect with my own eyes. It begun with Mr. Bingley, as I have mentioned him earlier. Basically what happened after that particular evening is some drunk texting back and forth: it didn’t mean much – mostly things like ‘you should have come out tonight’, because for some sort of reason we took turns of staying at home when the other person was going out, very effective. So it’s needless to say that that “affair” slowly bled out, which is probably for the best to be honest. 

Then there was this Spanish lad I met at a Halloween party. I had picked out the most slippery shoes I owned that night and fell down approximately twenty times. My new Spanish friend (we shall call him Juan) took care of me and surprisingly enough believed me every time when I assured him that I was only falling down because the floor was so slippery (which it was!) and not because I had gulped down a couple of whiskeys too much. Eventually Juan managed to get me home, stayed over and we had a very uneventful night as we both fell asleep straight away. The next day he came across as a generally nice guy so I decided to let my guard down and give him a chance. WRONG. He turned out to be an ordinary douchebag as he invited me multiple times to several different house parties or to come over to his house, to then not respond to any of my messages and leave me hanging. 

The final suitor showed up on another night out, because for some reason I am not capable of meeting nice people in the normal, daily live. I won’t even dedicate a paragraph to him, it’s sufficient to say that he was a mistake, for he couldn’t have been my type any less. Calling me “chick” and referring to himself as “us”, so I pied him off quite easily. 

So  there you have it. Once again forever alone. Not much of a surprise. 

Stay golden my little ponyboys and stay strong my fellow awkward-turtles out there,

Yours truly, Maple.

Standard

Leave a Reply

