entry, love, memories, prompt, relationships, salad days, the daily post

Salad Days

Yesterday I witnessed one of my housemates being carried off in an ambulance after downing our entire liquor cabinet by herself because her boyfriend had broken up with her after a three and a half year’s relationship. I can’t help but to point out once again that a lot of misery in the life of a 20-something student is caused by relationships or the lack thereof. Watching her being in so much pain that she just didn’t know how to cope with it any other way than basically drinking away her consciousness (which is a thing I do not approve of at all, by the way and I clearly want to point out that I did not know this was happening) made me long for those salad days when we were in primary school and being in love was not a thing on our minds at all. Sure, a few of us had crushes but they were so simplistic and innocent. I remember once when a boy asked me to be his “girlfriend” I felt obliged to tell him that I liked his friend as much as him and that I couldn’t choose, to which he simply replied: ‘Well then be in love with both of us, you can be both our girlfriends.” A concept that might seem very odd to us nowadays, but in a way I find it very endearing. It is very odd to me to try to understand how a seven year old can be so open-minded and how he simply accepted my feelings and came up with (in his eyes) the best solution that made all three of us happy. I have to admit that I am not a big fan of children, for I don’t really know how to communicate with them, but I really do admire children for their kind souls and I find myself time after time wishing that I could be like them for one more day – with not a care in the world. 

Stay golden my little ponyboys and stay strong my fellow awkward-turtles out there,

Yours truly, Maple.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Salad Days

  1. Pingback: Life Is Beautiful | Rahul Creatrix's Blog

  2. Hi Maple! Great story, it makes me wonder why we lose this ability to accept other people’s feelings and not take it personally when we grow up. Children sometimes seem to be much wiser that adults, although it’s supposed to be the other way round.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Cherish your Salad Days | The Extra Pounds

Leave a comment